The trails are calling, so I’m answering

Last weekend I ran the 9.1 mile loop around our local watershed lake. It rained the entire time, it was windy in one section, a tree was down across the path in another section, and yet another part was flooded. I didn’t have my hydration vest and forgot to grab a water bottle. It should have been a crappy run, right? Nope. One of the best runs in AGES. The trails are where I can go and regroup, escape, breathe, reset. And I did.  

I startled this buck less than 1/2 mile in

While running (nice and slow, goal was to keep my heart rate close to 135, which I did for the most part), I decided to sign up for a local 5k trail race tomorrow that I’d seen on Gametiime. It’s rumored to be the hilliest of the series (winter series has races every other weekend), but I run for fun not to win, so it sounds perfect. 

I’ll let you know – time to gather everything together so I’m ready in the morning.

Time to race again – cheers!

Author: silverhonore

I'm a mom, wife, runner, knitter, reader and procrastinator. I am fairly fluent in sarcasm, which has gotten me into trouble now and then. I enjoy writing (rambling on, as I'm often reminded), even though I'm most often the only one interested in reading what I have to say. So, to satisfy the writing bug and my latest addiction (running), I've created this for me. My own little universe, where I can blabber on about all the geeky running stuff that I like, goofy photos no one wants to scroll past, and now and then talk about what's happening in my universe in general. If you are reading this, feel free to comment - as long as you're mostly polite, constructive or best of all, just have something nice to say. Cheers!

1 thought on “The trails are calling, so I’m answering”

  1. Sounds Wonderful! (Both last weeks run, and the one tomorow!) Have fun, Refresh the soul, and you will be the big winner. 🙂

Leave a Reply

