Ragnar NW Passage

Awesome. Not really sure I need to go on. 

This was my post on the Sub30 Club page as I was heading out for my last leg: Day 2 Ragnar NW Passage, leg 26 finishing up, leg 27 is a whopping 2.4 miles then I’m up for 8.1 hilly, partially supported miles. 2.5 hrs sleep, not much food, back and Achilles taped up with Rock Tape. Cross your fingers I don’t let my team down!!! — feeling anxioushungrytiredsorebutf*ckingdetermined. 

I didn’t let them down, even though I had to walk up two long steep hills, I FLEW down the last mile. And no, I couldn’t really walk afterward! 

Sleeping on the gym floor for a few hours was some of the best sleep I had all weekend. The burger and beer I had after each leg was the best food ever. The Blizzard I had on our way home….good, but not what my stomach needed, so I slept. 

Since pictures are worth a thousand words (and I’m writing this 2.5 months post-race)….

   
    
    
   
For all the great, there were also some bummers:

  • We were Van 1, we rarely saw Van 2 and I missed the full team camaraderie.
  • Food – IF I ever do a relay again, I will pack a small cooler/bag of food for me. We had snacks, but not really stuff I usually snack on, so I was always hungry.
  • Post-run clothes. I had a dress to pull on, which was comfy. Susan had a skirt which looked way easier and less exposure when it was time to change again.
  • Driver/Van – I think having a DD would be better. Poor Mike did most of the driving, and when Emily drove it was late and she was super tired. Not a good mix. Plus, the van organization was a little rough for this OCD gal.
  • Shower wipes – everyone should embrace these. Vans are small.

Cheers!

 

Author: silverhonore

I'm a mom, wife, runner, knitter, reader and procrastinator. I am fairly fluent in sarcasm, which has gotten me into trouble now and then. I enjoy writing (rambling on, as I'm often reminded), even though I'm most often the only one interested in reading what I have to say. So, to satisfy the writing bug and my latest addiction (running), I've created this for me. My own little universe, where I can blabber on about all the geeky running stuff that I like, goofy photos no one wants to scroll past, and now and then talk about what's happening in my universe in general. If you are reading this, feel free to comment - as long as you're mostly polite, constructive or best of all, just have something nice to say. Cheers!

1 thought on “Ragnar NW Passage”

  1. LOL! “Vans are small” Yes they are, but it still sounds like a good time! And yes, resulting on other people’s snack choices can be, dangerous! 🙂 – BryanB

Leave a Reply

