Hit the trail running…

In less than 30 days, Red and I will head to Bend, Oregon to run my second trail race there, so I finally took the plunge and bought actual trail running shoes.  I wasn’t really sure I wanted to spend that money, most of my running is on the road or paved bike trails. A few weeks back though, I ran the Lake Youngs Trail (a lovely 9.2 mile loop around the local reservoir) and my feet were pretty sore afterward. Not just ankles as usual, but the bottoms. They felt bruised and then it dawned on me, because I can be super smart sometimes, that maybe trail shoes were created…for a reason. 

picture from 2013

The following week, I asked my favorite running guru at Road Runner Sports for some help. We both run in Brooks Adrenaline and he swears by their Cascadia’s. I had to stew on the purchase since I will need another pair of Adrenaline’s in another month or two (at the most). He suggested the 9’s (current season is 10), since there were still some in my size online and they were on sale! Tempting.

Fast forward two weeks to today. I grabbed my $10 off DSW coupon and went on the hunt. I HAD to be able to find shoes there, right? Nope. Not only no Brooks in my size, but ZERO running shoes in my size.  (Maybe Nike’s but I can’t wear those.) I tried Nordstrom Rack (struck out on shoes, but scored some great lingerie & perfume!), Kohl’s and then gave in. Off to Road Runner I went and new shoes will arrive on my doorstep in 2 days. Not only did I save an extra 10% above VIP by ordering in store, but shipping is free!

Horse Butte – I’m coming for you. Now, I just need a portable oxygen tank….

Do you prefer trails or road? I love the serenity of trails but usually run solo and I’m sort of chicken.

Do you have a favorite shoe brand? So far, Brooks have been great for me but I would try something new if someone really knowledgable said I should (especially if they wanted to pay for them!)

Do you have a portable oxygen tank? Seriously – the elevation is the part I can’t train for!  Elevation starts at 3,941′ and goes up to 4,339′ with a max slope of 12.6%! 

Author: silverhonore

I'm a mom, wife, runner, knitter, reader and procrastinator. I am fairly fluent in sarcasm, which has gotten me into trouble now and then. I enjoy writing (rambling on, as I'm often reminded), even though I'm most often the only one interested in reading what I have to say. So, to satisfy the writing bug and my latest addiction (running), I've created this for me. My own little universe, where I can blabber on about all the geeky running stuff that I like, goofy photos no one wants to scroll past, and now and then talk about what's happening in my universe in general. If you are reading this, feel free to comment - as long as you're mostly polite, constructive or best of all, just have something nice to say. Cheers!

1 thought on “Hit the trail running…”

  1. I’ve run in that kind of elevation – it’s not bad. You’ll be fine. Now the hills – that’s another story – haha! Can’t wait to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

