A dumb ass with a plan!

20140531-144416-53056518.jpg
In June I will run 100 miles. Or walk some, and heck, I can crawl if need be.

I haven’t run outside since last Sunday, but I’ve been to the gym for the elliptical (Tuesday), walked some (parking at work sucks ass – I got in a couple miles to and from my car), and today made it to the 8:30am Body Works class. I forget how hard that class is if you don’t go very often. And then I hopped on the elliptical and did 3 miles right after class. Wahoo! Achilles is still sore but no shooting or burning pain. I’m super happy about that. Tomorrow I’ll head out to the local (paved) trail and run for time not distance. I need to love my run. Fingers crossed!

Short week at work coming up since we will head to Bend on Friday right after school gets out. My sister backed out of the race because it hurts to run. Bummer for her – but that means I’ve already met my goal of ‘beating her time’ even if it meant pushing her over at the end! Yep – I’m THAT sister. I wonder if she’ll have food ready to dive into when the rest of us are done?

I plan to head to the running store before next weekend and see about getting heel pads, and maybe some black compression socks for the trail. I’m still thinking about the tank top with my emergency contact info on it – we’ll see.

And as for 100 freaking miles in June? I have two half’s so that’s already 26.2 (and likely the only time I will ever write that mileage down!), which means 28 other days to get in 73.8 miles. 3 a day – or thereabouts. Who knows, but I’m sure going to try.

What’s something scary you should suck it up and try? Do you have siblings you compete with? Have you run a trail race at a very different elevation than you’re used to and survived?

Positive thoughts – cheers,
Honoré

Author: silverhonore

I'm a mom, wife, runner, knitter, reader and procrastinator. I am fairly fluent in sarcasm, which has gotten me into trouble now and then. I enjoy writing (rambling on, as I'm often reminded), even though I'm most often the only one interested in reading what I have to say. So, to satisfy the writing bug and my latest addiction (running), I've created this for me. My own little universe, where I can blabber on about all the geeky running stuff that I like, goofy photos no one wants to scroll past, and now and then talk about what's happening in my universe in general. If you are reading this, feel free to comment - as long as you're mostly polite, constructive or best of all, just have something nice to say. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

