Just what IS the end goal?

20140422-221801.jpgquote from jillconyers.com

I was talking with my guy tonight, after chowing down on a not-quite-baked-all-the-way potato, and I was telling him about my plans for running this year-ish. I have five races in the next eight weeks. No biggie. Oh, well, except three of those are half marathons. My ultimate race goals have nothing to do with winning. I am not a fast runner. My goals for the half are simple: a) finish upright; b) finish smiling; c) finish in 2:30 or less; and if it’s really flat/perfect temp/I’ve trained right… finish in 2:15 or less. Simple.

My last big race (until November when we go to Vegas for the RnR Half) is June 21. That would have been my mom’s 75th birthday, and I’m doing the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half here in Seattle. She was a rocker. She spent time working for a record label, record distribution company, and with Rhino Records (their president even came to my first wedding – thanks again for the Coffee/Espresso machine!). That race is for her. I have zero time goals for that one. Just to enjoy the music, the scenery, and the people watching. Screw that, I know I will be thinking about time, too. And this lady, because she rocked, and I miss her every day. 20140422-215200.jpg

Then it’s shorter races over the summer and into Red’s cross country season. She will be a senior and I want to be there enjoying her last year and cheering her (and her team mates) on as many steps of the way as I can.

I’ll start training for the Vegas Half in September, but not a lot of long races. My goal is to incorporate some speed work into my training. My current training includes it….I just don’t actually do it like I should. I will though.

Anyway, back to the point. My guy asked me what my ‘end goal’ was.

What? Crap, are you kidding me? I have to have an actual goal?

Well shit. I mean, can goal just be dreams, or ‘well maybe someday’ thoughts, or those cliché ‘bucket list’ things? As long as I don’t have to do a Goals & Tasks assignment, I guess I can come up with a few.

So here are a few to get started, and maybe someday I’ll add to the list:

•Run a sub-2:00 half marathon (ok, that’s kind of ridiculous…isn’t it?)
•Run a half in another country (perhaps this one, but not this year)
•Go on a real RaceCation, not Vegas but somewhere sunny, like here?
•Run on a Ragnar Team with 11 other people from high school – my gf Linda just ran this one and had a blast! We started talking about it, and think getting a bunch of high school friends together for a team could be a hoot.
•Volunteer. I struggle with this one because I don’t want to miss out on running the race(s) yet…but I will get there. Soon. Maybe this summer.
•Place first in my age group, I don’t care the race length. Next year will likely be the year for it, since I will turn 50. And I’ve placed second before in a 10k – so there’s hope (as long as it’s a small race)!
•Oh, one more! Write more often. I write blog posts in my head all the time, doesn’t do much good unless I make a point of putting ‘fingertips-to-keys’ though.

Maybe they’re not ‘end’ goals, but that implies I’d be a quitter, right? That there would be an actual ‘end’, and I’m not ready for that.

What are your goals for this year? Do you race for time or something else? Have you volunteered at a race before?

Cheers –
me

Author: silverhonore

I'm a mom, wife, runner, knitter, reader and procrastinator. I am fairly fluent in sarcasm, which has gotten me into trouble now and then. I enjoy writing (rambling on, as I'm often reminded), even though I'm most often the only one interested in reading what I have to say. So, to satisfy the writing bug and my latest addiction (running), I've created this for me. My own little universe, where I can blabber on about all the geeky running stuff that I like, goofy photos no one wants to scroll past, and now and then talk about what's happening in my universe in general. If you are reading this, feel free to comment - as long as you're mostly polite, constructive or best of all, just have something nice to say. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

