Wireless keyboard vs my reading glasses

My guy suggested I use the wireless iPad keyboard, since I’m a much better typer than pad-poker (a new, very technical term). The keyboard is going to be awesome, once my fingers get used to where “delete (aka backspace)” is. Now the big challenge? I’m blind. No, not really, just can’t see a thing without my reding glasses on, and the iPad is juuuuuuust far enough away, that I can’t really see IT with my glasses on. If he’s reading this, I’m reading his mind. He’s saying “You know, they make these things called contact lenses”…yeah yeah yeah.

Yesterday was a “Rest/XT” day. I chose rest vs cross train because I was feeling flat out lazy. I tried to see “Saving Mr Banks” with my daughter (who I affectionately refer to often as “Red” because she’s got a gorgeous head of red, wavy hair and she totally embraces life as a ginger), her boyfriend and his mom. The movie was sold out by the time we got there so we headed back home. And that’s when it happened. I sat on the couch, hit the nifty recline button, and that was how I spent much of the remainder of the day.

Today, however, was a brand new day. We stayed up late last night watching a movie (“White House Down” – highly recommend it, action and comedy) but I made sure to let my guy know that I wanted to hit Body Works at the gym in the morning. It’s an 8:30am class so I like to be up in time for a cup of coffee and snack before going. It was the first Saturday class I’ve gotten to in a long time. I have lots of reasons, but only a few count as an actual excuse, so I’ll leave it at that. Today I DID go though, and Mari kicked my ass. She loves squats. Wide-legged, plie, single-legged, really freaking slow down then pop back up… if there’s a way to torture you with squats, she knows it. And although my calves were screaming bloody murder by the end of class, I loved it. I had a small snack when I got home (leftover prime rib and parmesan potatoes on a salad plate). I still had to go for a run, so I crawled into Red’s bed with her (one word – teenager) and we talked about going for a run together. An hour long nap later, I crawled out, grabbed my Garmin and hit the road. Since it was only a 2 mile easy run, I headed out for the quick loop by my house and was done in no time.

Then I was reminded today was a 3 mile run day. Crap. Oh well, I justified it with myself since I’d done that killer hour class and I’m good.

Tomorrow is a long easy 8 miles, and I’m going to try to talk Red into doing the Lake Youngs loop. Sort of hilly (there’s even a section referred to as ‘the rollercoaster’), but really close to home and a loop so we don’t have to look and the same thing twice.

Author: silverhonore

I'm a mom, wife, runner, knitter, reader and procrastinator. I am fairly fluent in sarcasm, which has gotten me into trouble now and then. I enjoy writing (rambling on, as I'm often reminded), even though I'm most often the only one interested in reading what I have to say. So, to satisfy the writing bug and my latest addiction (running), I've created this for me. My own little universe, where I can blabber on about all the geeky running stuff that I like, goofy photos no one wants to scroll past, and now and then talk about what's happening in my universe in general. If you are reading this, feel free to comment - as long as you're mostly polite, constructive or best of all, just have something nice to say. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

