Best of 2013

My memory isn’t the best. When my kids were young, and in trouble, I frequently had to say/yell “hey YOU, stop…” because I just couldn’t quite put their name on my tongue at that precise moment. And it’s not like I didn’t know it, I picked it!

Anyway, 2013 is my very first running year. Thanks to pictures, and a stack of bibs (that I wisely wrote my times onto the back of), I have a pretty good visual of my year (and maybe I will take a visual and share – tomorrow). First though, I want to remember why I started.

It’s Red’s fault. We were on a trail hike in Nov (or maybe Oct?) in our neighborhood and she wanted to jog for part of it. I laughed. Really. And then said sure. It was at least 20-30 steps later that I stopped because I thought she was going to have to throw me over her shoulder to get my lifeless body to the fire station. Red is a cross country runner. She loves it, and she was 15 at the time, so she was actually in shape, too. And there I was, holding her back. So, she’d run ahead, then wait for me or I’d try to run some of the downhill sections (yep, winded quickly on those, too). And then, it happened (if this was Survivor, the background music would be changing dramatically)…my teenage daughter said ‘I wish you were a runner so we could do training runs together’. I may have a crap memory, but I don’t think I will ever forget that moment. It kinda haunted me for a while because I tried running when I was a teen (I’d drive to Marina Del Rey smoking a cigarette, get out and run a couple miles, smoke again and drive home – I was a stupid kid) and that only last about 2 weeks – it was boring and exhausting. Now, my kid wants to spend time with me but I have to run to do it? (I hear the Psycho music in my head, do you?)

I read in More Magazine that Jamie Lee Curtis had done a 5k by training with the Couch25k training app. If she could do it, so could I, especially since I’m a gal that needs directions.

And that (ohmygoshfinallygettingtothepoint) is how my 2013 started. January 1st, on the treadmill, with an app telling me to walk briskly and I think there were a couple times I had to RUN for 30 seconds. As the weeks went on, I’d tell my guy I didn’t think I was going to be able to do the days workout “I have to run 5/8/10 minutes. In a ROW!”. Then I’d come upstairs and my guy would ask “did you win?”. Lo and behold, I was still upright so heck yeah, I did!

I signed up for The Scrambled Egg 5k in Redmond for the end of March. My guy was smiling at the finish line and then said those 3 magic words…”You did it!”. F*** YEAH I did! 32:09. I sent Red a text and although I don’t remember exactly what she said, she was proud of me. Not only did I do it – but in my world, I won! I could barely walk the rest of the day.  Not much of the next one, either.
 

20131231-234226.jpg
And here I am, the end of 2013, thirteen races later and I just (this morning) registered for the Seattle Rock/N/Roll Half Marathon on what would have been my mom’s 75th birthday.

For the last night of the year, I even got in a quick (really, I ran fast for ME!) 2 miles in the rain, and it was pretty nice! 20131231-234916.jpg

Quite a difference a year can make!

Last night my guy asked me if I had any Resolutions or Goals for 2014, and after talking it through it with him, I realized… I do!

  1. I’d like to run a 10k in under an hour – I’m ‘only’ 3:37 away, but crap that’s a lot of time.
  2. I’d like to continue to run a race every month, length isn’t important, but I’m leaning more to 10k and longer
  3. I’d like to run a half in at least 2 different states

I probably have more goals, like to avoid injuries, wear a kickass superhero costume or smile more, but I can’t think of more right now.

Right now, I’m thinking of spending this last evening of 2013 with my guy and close friends, reflecting on the great parts of the year, the crappy parts, and… ok, who am I kidding.  We’re gonna be having cocktails, bitching about something, laughing at some sleeze’s outfit and trying not to snort!

20131231-234601.jpg
Cheers and Happy 2014!!!

Author: silverhonore

I'm a mom, wife, runner, knitter, reader and procrastinator. I am fairly fluent in sarcasm, which has gotten me into trouble now and then. I enjoy writing (rambling on, as I'm often reminded), even though I'm most often the only one interested in reading what I have to say. So, to satisfy the writing bug and my latest addiction (running), I've created this for me. My own little universe, where I can blabber on about all the geeky running stuff that I like, goofy photos no one wants to scroll past, and now and then talk about what's happening in my universe in general. If you are reading this, feel free to comment - as long as you're mostly polite, constructive or best of all, just have something nice to say. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

