A sunburn in December? WT…?

My guy worked today (yes, it’s Sunday) and even though I woke up when he left just before 8am, and made coffee, I crawled right back into bed and stayed there until almost 11am. I realized I needed to get my rear in gear and get in that 8 miler, but holy crap Batman, I needed to get intimate with the foam roller big time first.

Once done, I made my favorite protein shake (16oz plain almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate protein powder, 2T natural peanut butter, banana and 6 or 7 ice cubes – toss into the ninja blender and whirl) and got my running duds on. Today was 38° so I went for the 3/4 length wind blocking Nike pants, a Road Runner tank, an Athleta 3/4 zip front long sleeve, and my Under Armour beanie. Anything over 2 miles or so and I grab my New Balance 1080 shoes (my Asics Gel Cumulus 14’s are older, but the NB’s are catching up quickly).

My goal had been to grab Red and talk her into Lake Youngs (9.18 mi), but we decided to do Soos Creek Trail instead since to be completely honest, neither of us felt like doing a bunch of hills (but we are commuted to it for next week).

20131229-220522.jpg Guess there were still some hills.

Our run was uneventful, which I like because Thanksgiving I strained my calf on this trail. We started at one end of the trail and went farther than I’ve gone before, I liked that sense of accomplishment. At 6.55 mi, I let Red know we were half way there. She got it right away and groaned at me – half of a half marathon. We can sooooo do that! On the last 1/4 mile, we passed a gal running the opposite way, she said “way to go!” and gave us high fives! That rocked – I need to remember to do that for someone else sometime.

20131229-214410.jpg
It was a great run and we both felt like we could have kept going the other 5 miles, but we were thirsty so we were glad we didn’t have to.

After we got in the car to drive home my face felt ‘tender’. Red said I was just cooling down. Yeah, nope. Still that way tonight. Guess who got sunburned? In the PAC NW. In December! I wear face lotion with SPF15, this isn’t supposed to happen.

But I kinda like it.

Author: silverhonore

I'm a mom, wife, runner, knitter, reader and procrastinator. I am fairly fluent in sarcasm, which has gotten me into trouble now and then. I enjoy writing (rambling on, as I'm often reminded), even though I'm most often the only one interested in reading what I have to say. So, to satisfy the writing bug and my latest addiction (running), I've created this for me. My own little universe, where I can blabber on about all the geeky running stuff that I like, goofy photos no one wants to scroll past, and now and then talk about what's happening in my universe in general. If you are reading this, feel free to comment - as long as you're mostly polite, constructive or best of all, just have something nice to say. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

