and so it begins…

Yesterday was Christmas (wahoo!!!) and I was completely spoiled by my husband and kids.  I’ve wanted a GPS watch for a while but I’m pretty fickle and couldn’t make up my mind what I wanted to spend a gazillion dollars on.  I put it on my wish list with a note that said ‘used off Craigslist was just fine’ because what if I hate it?  I did get a used 3rd gen iPad (mine was 1st gen) and a used Garmin Nuvi for my car (which, when I bought it used, had the dock for the gps but no hardware).  Notice a theme?  Yeah, I’m all for used/cheap.  Anyway, for Christmas I got a brandspankingnew Garmin 310XT GPS watch!!! Lucky for me, today was a 7mile day on the training calendar, so I took it for a spin.  My guy suggested a one-way run (not off a bridge though) that ended at Red Robin, and even offered to drop me off and meet me at “the finish”.  Um, OKAY! Not it only did I kick running butt by only stopping at red lights (well, I stopped…and then started again), but I went 8.11 miles total with a 2 min walking warm up, and a short walk in the parking lot to where my handsome guy was waiting with the best thing ever – my water bottle!  Wahoo! Popped a Cherry-Limeaid Nuun tab in there, had the gal at RR fill me up with ice water from the pitcher, then crowed down on a Bacon Guacamole burger with bottomless sweet potato fries.

First 8 miler - must be the Garmin
First 8 miler – must be the Garmin

Spent some quality time with the foam roller once we got home, well, and after I uploaded the data from my Garmin (so COOL!) and have pretty much been a sloth ever since. Tomorrow is a cross training day, or rest.  Hmmmmm……..

Author: silverhonore

I'm a mom, wife, runner, knitter, reader and procrastinator. I am fairly fluent in sarcasm, which has gotten me into trouble now and then. I enjoy writing (rambling on, as I'm often reminded), even though I'm most often the only one interested in reading what I have to say. So, to satisfy the writing bug and my latest addiction (running), I've created this for me. My own little universe, where I can blabber on about all the geeky running stuff that I like, goofy photos no one wants to scroll past, and now and then talk about what's happening in my universe in general. If you are reading this, feel free to comment - as long as you're mostly polite, constructive or best of all, just have something nice to say. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

